Financial institutions insured by the Kenya Deposit Insurance Corporation

The Kenya Deposit Insurance Corporation (KDIC) is mandated to protect depositors against the loss of their insured deposits in the unlikely event of failure of a member bank.

Kenyans have in the recent years seen banks like Imperial Bank and Chase Bank go under hence people losing their deposits. KDIC, established by an Act of Parliament becomes an important institution to protect Kenyans, hence knowing which financial institutions are members is critical.

As at September 1, 2022, the following financial institutions are insured by KDIC, ensuring that depositors’ assets are safe. They are;

Commercial Banks

1 ABSA Bank Kenya Public Limited Company

2 Access Bank (Kenya) Public Limited Company

3 African Banking Corporation Limited

4 Bank of Africa Kenya Limited

5 Bank of Baroda (K) Limited

6 Bank of India Limited

7 Citibank N.A Kenya

8 Consolidated Bank of Kenya Limited

9 Co-operative Bank of Kenya Limited

10 Credit Bank Limited

11 Development Bank of Kenya Limited

12 Diamond Trust Bank Kenya Limited

13 DIB Bank Kenya Limited

14 Ecobank Kenya Limited

15 Equity Bank Kenya Limited

16 Family Bank Limited

17 First Community Bank Limited

18 Guaranty Trust Bank (K) Limited

19 Guardian Bank Limited

20 Gulf African Bank Limited

21 Habib Bank A.G Zurich

22 I & M Bank Limited

23 KCB Bank Kenya Limited

24 Kingdom Bank Limited

25 Mayfair – CIB Bank Limited

26 Middle East Bank (K) Limited

27 M-Oriental Bank Limited

28 National Bank of Kenya Limited

29 NCBA Bank Kenya Plc

30 Paramount Bank Limited

31 Prime Bank Limited

32 SBM Bank Kenya Limited

33 Sidian Bank Limited

34 Spire Bank Limited

35 Stanbic Bank Kenya Limited

36 Standard Chartered Bank Kenya Limited

37 UBA Kenya Bank Limited

38 Victoria Commercial Bank Limited

Mortgage Finance Institutions

 HFC Limited

Microfinance Banks

 1 Branch Microfinance Bank Limited

2 Caritas Microfinance Bank Limited

3 Choice Microfinance Bank Limited

4 Daraja Microfinance Bank Limited

5 Faulu Microfinance Bank Limited

6 Kenya Women Microfinance Bank Limited

7 LOLC Microfinance Bank Limited

8 Maisha Microfinance Bank Ltd

9 Muungano Microfinance Bank Limited

10 Rafiki Microfinance Bank Limited

11 SMEP Microfinance Bank Limited

12 Sumac Microfinance Bank Limited

13 Salaam Microfinance Bank Limited

14 U & I Microfinance Bank Limited


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.