Three Kenyans shortlisted for Morland Writing Scholarships 2020

Three Kenyans have been shortlisted for the 2020 Morland Writing Scholarship. The three are Wairimu Muriithi, Ivy Nyayieka and Okwiri Oduor.

Announcing the shortlist, they remarked that this year they received 992 entries, over 300 more than last year. “They came from 30 different countries. Selecting the shortlist was a difficult task. Although the list is decided on a combination of literary merit and the book proposal, we also, when deciding between submissions of equal merit, try to favour writers at an early stage in their careers over established writers. We are delighted established writers apply and we have given many scholarships to them but for them we set the bar a little higher”, they said in a statement.

Miles Morland commented, “Trying to select four Scholars out of 992 entries, all of whom are published writers, is a nightmare. Anyone who gets on the shortlist can be proud of their achievement. Once again the entries showed a uniquely African combination of energy and originality. It is so pleasing to see so many different countries represented in the overall entries and in the shortlist.”

The judges, with Muthoni Garland in the chair, assisted by Bibi Bakare-Yusuf and Chuma Nwokolo, will meet on 23rd November to select the 2020 Scholars. Their names will be announced soon afterwards.

Scholars writing fiction receive a grant of 18000 euros, paid monthly over a period of 12 months. The foundation can decide to extend or increase grants for non-fiction writers over a period of 18 months.

At the end of each month, scholars must send the Foundation 10,000 new words that they have written over the course of the month.  The scholars are asked to donate 20 percent of proceeds of the book as a debt of honor as it is not legally binding.

Four to six African writers stand a chance to win the prize.

Full list of the Shortlist 2020:

Gothataone Moeng, Botswana

Howard Meh-Buh, Cameroon

Aba Asibon, Ghana

Kobina Ankomah-Graham, Ghana

Wairimu Muriithi, Kenya

Ivy Nyayieka, Kenya

Okwiri Oduor, Kenya

Sarah Uheida, Libya

Wesley Macheso, Malawi

Chukwuebuka Ibeh, Nigeria

Pearl Osibu, Nigeria

Temitope Owolabi, Nigeria

Rémy Ngamije, Rwanda

Lynsey Chutel, South Africa

Fred Khumalo, South Africa

Megan Ross, South Africa

Reem Gaafar, Sudan

Ernest Bazanye, Uganda

Bwanga Kapumpa, Zambia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.