NBK names interim Senior Directors

The National Bank of Kenya (NBK) has named five interim senior directors to take over the operations of the bank as investigations of the previous directors gathers pace.

The new senior directors are – Cromwell Kedemi (Retail & Premium Banking Director), Francis Ogwao (Integrated Distribution Channels Director), Anne Njoroge (Chief Credit Officer), Shadrack Kiamuko (ICT Director) and Reuben Koech (Corporate Institution Business Banking Director).

They will join Wilfred Musau who was appointed the Acting Managing Director.

The chairman of the NBK board Mohammed Hassan said

The board continues to take proactive measures to strengthen and enforce of our corporate governance tenets and the continuous enhancement of our risk management capabilities.

The previous senior directors and Managing Director are facing investigations both by the internal audit processes and the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) after the Inspector General of Police Joseph Boinnet ordered they be arrested and questioned.

NBK posted  a colossal sh1.2 billion loss at the end of 2015 which raised concerns over the liquidity of the bank to fulfill its financial obligations. It is this loss that led to the suspension of the six directors to pave way for an internal audit process.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.